shirlette ammons releases “Dear Nora” feat. Meshell Ndegeocello

shirlette ammons is a jack of all trades when it comes to music. ammons released her original album in 2013, but has put all of her skills into her upcoming album, Language Barrier, which will release on February 5th. This is not only her sophomore album, but also the first album to come out of SugarQube Records.

When my editor told me to listen to this single, I didn’t know what to expect. I thought it might be rap/hip-hop, of which I am not an aficionado, or indie rock or soul. Just from the description of ammons’ work, I knew it could be any of those possibilities. But when I turned on “Dear Nora,” I was so fond of what I heard.

There are so many woven pieces to this track that ammons orchestrates to perfection. “Dear Nora” is slowed down from tracks on previous albums and even from previous single “Earth Intro,” and that is a great thing. ammons is taking her time with this track and letting it develop for the listener.

The album will be available on iTunes on Feb. 5. More information, including concert dates (in North Carolina only), can be found at her website.

Leave a Reply

